WIM Professional and Career Women Awards 2014

Date: 25th July 2014
Venue: Taj Samudra Colombo

Chief Guest

  • Hon. Minister Basil Rajapakse – Minister of Economic Development

Guests of Honor

  • Hon. Minister Tissa karalliyadde – Minister of Child development & Women’s Affairs
  • H. E. Shelly Whiting - High Commission of Canada
  • Hon. Dr. Sudharshini Fernandopulle – Member Of Parliament
  • Hon. Eran Wickramaratne - Member Of Parliament
  • Ms Varuni Fernando - Jt. Managing Director Triad (Pvt) Ltd
  • Mr Graeme Harris – Senior Operations Officer, IFC
  • Mr Abhishek Jugran – Country Manager, Coca-Cola Far East Ltd


Genre of Excellence “Going Beyond Limits”

Colour Theme

Red & Silver


Pooja Dance, Kgomotso XolisaMamaila with beat boxer Julius Mitchelle followed up prince Leone, Latin American Dance

Panel of Judges

  • Dr. Rohantha Athukorala – Head of National Portfolio Development, Sri Lanka & Maldives UN
  • Mr. Sanjeev Jayaratnam – Chief Transformational Wizard / Lecturer / World Champion Choral Conductor / Singer / Actor
  • Ms. Shehara De Silva – DGM, Janashakthi Insurance PLC
  • SSP Ajith Rohana – Police Media Spokesman, Sri Lanka Police
  • Ms. Samadani Kiriwandeniya – Chairperson, Sanasa Development Bank PLC
  • Ms. Indrani Fernando – Managing Director, Philips Hospital Pvt Ltd

Award Winners

No Category Name Title
1 Human Resources Prasadini Naganika Gamage – Senior Lecturer Grade 1-HRM Faculty of HR- University of Kelaniya Gold
2 Human Resources Chathurika Amarakoon – HR Business Partner & National Employee Relations Manager Unilever Sri Lanka Ltd Silver
3 Banking & Finance Nelun Fernando – Senior Vice President ICIC Bank Sri Lanka Gold
4 Banking & Finance Shiromi Noel Wickramasinghe – Chairperson HDFC Bank Silver
5 Legal Ridmika Dep – Attorney-at-Law President/ Vice President Sri Lanka Women Lawyer’s Association &
International Women Lawyer’s Federation
6 Legal Prof. Camena Guneratne – Dean Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences L.L.B (University of Colombo, SL),
L.L.M (Harvard Law School) P.H.D (University of Waikato, New Zealand) Department of Legal Studies
7 Marketing Thishani Aradhird Dissanayake – Chief Manager Marketing Union Bank PLC Gold
8 Marketing Shiranaaz Kaney – Group Brand Manager Hemas Holdings PLC (Consumer Brands) Silver
9 Defense & Civil Waruni Keshala Bogahawatte -OIC Child and Women’s Bureau Matara Division Police Gold
10 Advertising Chandani Rajaratnam – Vice President & Chief Creative Officer J. Walter Thompson Sri Lanka Gold
11 Advertising Alyna Haji Omar – CEO Response Marketing Pvt Ltd Silver
12 Corporate Communication Sanjeewani De Silva – Head of Corporate Affairs Standard Chartered Bank Sri Lanka Gold
13 Media Dharisha Bastian – Senior Journalist & Political Columnist Daily FT Gold
14 Media Dileesha Abeysundara- Features Editor Irudina News Paper Silver
15 Information Technology Thushara Canekeratne – Advisor & Co-Founder Virtusa (Pvt) Ltd Gold
16 Arts and Aesthetics Sumitra Peiris – First Sri Lankan female Film maker and is known as the “Poetess of Sinhala Cinema”
She also held the post of Sri Lanka’s ambassador to France, Spain and the United Nations in the late 1990.
Her most popular films are Gehenu Lamai, Ganga Addara and Yahaluvo
17 State Sector Government Corporation Damitha de Zoysa – Permanent Secretary Ministry of Productivity Promotion, Secretary Ministry of Plantation Industries Gold
18 State Sector Government Corporation Saroja Sirisena – The Consulate General of Sri Lanka in Mumbai Silver
19 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Maheshi Wijeratne – MD E H Leisure – Pigeon Island Beach Resort Gold
20 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Fathima Hafsha Ilyaz – Owner Buns & Muffins- Colombo Gold
21 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Vrai Reymond – Proprietor The Achcharu Kade & Kama Kade – Colombo Gold
22 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Dilhani Iresha De Silva – Proprietor Dilhani Handloom – Galle Gold
23 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Samanthi Shriya Kumuduni Fernando – Proprietor MVA Products – Seeduwa Gold
24 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Anthony Jesudasan – Proprietor Photo Framing – Batticoloa Gold
25 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Mano Mani – Proprietor Ladies Bras – Batticoloa Gold
26 Upcoming Women Entrepreneurs Edirisinghe Withanage Swarna – Proprietor Handloom Bags – Piliyandala Gold
27 Outstanding Non Profit Organization Sunethra Bandaranayake – Chairperson Sunera Foundation Gold
28 Woman for Women Award Manique Gunaratne – Executive Trainer Empowering Persons with disabilities Employee Federation of Ceylon Gold
29 Business Organization Supportive Towards
Women Leadership
MAS Holdings (Pvt) Ltd – Began as an intimate Apparel Manufacturer Gold
30 Outstanding Business Entreprenuers (Small) Susan Brohier – Event Planer Event Factory Gold
31 Outstanding Business Entreprenuers (Medium) Niloufer Anverally – Founder/ MD fashion retail icon Cotton Collection Gold
32 Outstanding Business Entreprenuers (Large) Neela Jayawardena – Owner House of fashion Gold
33 Economist Sabashini Abeysinghe – Senior Economic Analysis, Verité Research (Pvt) Ltd Gold
34 Business Role Model Woman of the Year Ramya Weerakoon – Chairperson/MD Ramya Apparels (Pvt) Ltd Gold
35 Career Role Model Woman of the Year Kasthuri Chellarajah Wilson – MD Hemas Transport (Pvt) Ltd Gold
36 Inspirational Woman Ramya Weerakoon – GM Infotechs (Pvt) Ltd Gold
37 Inspirational Woman Bimba Jayasinghe Tilakaratne – President’s Councilor Solicitor General of Sri Lanka Gold
38 Inspirational Woman Yogeshwary Pathmarajah – Mayor Municipal Council Jaffna Gold
39 Inspirational Woman Ashoka Alawatte – Additional Secretary Development Ministry of Women & Child Affairs Gold
40 Inspirational Woman Yehali Sangakkara – Former Sri Lankan Cricketer Captain’s wife Gold
41 Inspirational Woman Kumari Balasooriya – Governor Southern Province Gold
42 Inspirational Woman Gowri Rajan – The first woman to become the Rotary District Governor Rotary International District 220 Sri Lanka Gold
43 Inspirational Woman Tikiriyawarnage Princy Silva – President Positive Women Network (HIV/AIDS) Gold
44 Appreciation Award Kusum De Silva – Director The Family Planning Association of Sri Lanka Gold
45 Appreciation Award Women in Needs – Non-profit  organization fighting domestic violence, rape, child abuse,
and other forms of violence (GBV) faced by women and girls
46 Appreciation Award Wanniarachchige Malini Senehelatha Fonseka – Popularly as Malini Fonseka is an award-winning Sri Lanka film actress
and former member of Sri Lanka Parliament, who is known as the “Queen of Sinhalese cinema”.
Her cinema career that has spanned many decades began with Tissa Liyansooriya’s Punchi Baba in 1968
47 Appreciation Award Lts. SLN Retired,- Priyangani Jayasundara MBA in HRD (USA), BA (SL), ADTT & AL (IVQ – UK), MISMM (SL)
Visiting Lecturer – University of Moratuwa Consultant to Colombo Institute of Logistics & Management (CLIM) Education,
Management & Training Consultant International Accredited Trainer (SCM – ITC/UNO)
48 Power Women Dhara Wijetilake – CEO Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Gold
49 Power Women Prof.Yoga Rasanayagam – Emeritus Professor, University of Colombo & Chancellor Eastern University Gold
50 Judges Award Justice Shanthi Eva Wanasundara – President’s Counsel Judge of the Supreme Court of Sri Lanka Gold

Our Sponsors this year

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Banner Sponsors

Gift Sponsors

Media Sponsors