Award Details


  • Nominee should be a Sri Lankan origin
  • You are not an employee of WIM or a judge on the Awards Committee
  • If you are competing for the individual categories for career and business award, you must hold that position for no less than 36 months or you should be operating your business for at least 36 months.WIM does not have a financial interest in your business or organization
  • You have not been involved in the judging of the Professional & Career Women Awards in the past three years
  • You were not an Award winner in the 2017/2018 Professional & Career Women Awards Canada. Past Award Winners can apply. But should not be an immediate winner of last year

Application Top Tips

  • Don’t fall back on clichés and tired story lines
  • Don’t undersell yourself, your business and your hard work
  • Give us the truth, not just the formula
  • You (the entrepreneur) are the hero/heroine of your story; tell us about your ingenuity, your insight Qualities that potential Award winners share
  • The Judges look for qualities that reflect the values of the Awards
  • A compelling vision that shapes what you do
  • Overcoming adversity with determination and creative problem solving
  • Championing the skills of relationship building and negotiation in business
  • Mentoring others to succeed
  • Giving back to your community
  • Challenging the notion that there is only one way of doing things

Award Categories


Holding a Job title, description or leadership position in any business sector, Institutes, manufacturing industries in private, government or non-government can apply for this category.

  1. Human Resources
  2. Banking Industry
  3. Finance Management
  4. Marketing & Advertising
  5. Legal
  6. State & Government Sector
  7. Corporate Communication
  8. Media Electronic, Print & Digital
  9. Supply Chain-logistics, Shipping, Ports & Freight
  10. Hospitality Industry
  11. Arts & Creative Science
  12. Defense Force & Civil Security
  13. Sports
  14. Career Achievements (3 Awards where there are no specific Category; e.g. Medical, Engineering & Architecture)
Definition: Professional & Category Awards

Corporate can nominate their Top women leadership (Managing Director, Chief Executive officer, or Board Director) to the 1st, 2nd & 3rd category only and all other categories are not for nominations.

Fifth category is open for young youth age above 20 and below 35 years as at March 2019

International Category is open for Sri Lankans who are holding citizenships in other countries

Professional Category Awards
  1. Corporate Leader of the Year
  2. Business Role Model of the Year
  3. Career Role Model of the year
  4. Male champion of the Year
  5. Young youth leadership Awards
  6. International women leadership awards
  7. Inspirational women of the Year
Special Category
  1. Judges Awards
Organizational Category Awards
  1. Best Women Empowerment Project run by a NGO, INGO & International organization
  2. Best CSR Programme run by a Private Sector for Women Empowerment
  3. Best Private Sector Organization for promoting
  4. Women in Workplace
    Women In board Awards-SLID
Business Awards Category

If entering the Entrepreneur category, you will have been operating your business for at least 12 months as of close of entries

  • Large Category – Number of Employees should be more than 200
  • Medium Category – Number of Employees should be 75 – 150
  • Small Category – Number of Employees should be 15 – 75
  1. Outstanding Woman Entrepreneur (Large)
  2. Outstanding Woman Entrepreneur (Medium)
  3. Outstanding Woman Entrepreneur (Small)
  4. Upcoming Woman Entrepreneur (5 Awards) North, East, South, Western, Central